YOUR OWN ROOM

September [4] 2008

(Poem)

your-own-room-image

Your own room is always¬†the best room my friend–

it’s your room and so it should be;

if it’s my room that you think is best, well then–

it’s in my room that you want to be.


As a rose is a rose my room is my room,

it’s perfect for the strange likes of me;

you’re welcome up, for a chat and some cheese,

It is a room you would like to see.


But your room is luscious too, m’dear,

It’s virescent and deep like you,¬†and for yours

it’s suited above the best–

especial and befit a guest,

it’s salutary and gladdening,

winsome and fine;

so why is it my friend

that your eyes fix to mine?

(1978)

Leave a Reply

