WHO IS THE GODDESS?

July [26] 2008

(Poem)

We walk these pebbled paths

through time processions of morning suns

like scuffed stones off the boot.

To count our slow ascent in steps

or mark mountains by flecks of dust–

our bucket’s rot would better mark

a mound of rust…

 

                  O Goddess of Earth

                  Cauldron of Night,

 

in shadows I sputter and cringe,

as the path grows thick

I feel the breath

of a bogsnake

at my thigh.

 

The heart cries long–

where is the Goddess?

I have vanished.

 

                  In distant light

                  chimes and flute echo.

                  My moccassins touch black sand.

 

I leave myself

to a unicorn

quietly chewing grass

in the warm rain.

 

A city is coming near

I hear cellos through the rain

and can see a red temple in the mist.

 

The musk of damp pine

blends with loud river torrents,

I shiver for hickory tea.

 

                   I know that you are here

                   O Goddess,  let me come.

                                                          (1978)

One Response to “WHO IS THE GODDESS?”

  1. Tammera S. Woodall Says:

    Interesting poem. Bogsnake, huh? Ha ha.

    I like what I have read of your work so far, it inspires me to read on. I really enjoyed the one about Jung! He is somewhat of a hero-figure to me. I love his work with dreams, mandalas, symbolism and such. It is also interesting to know that he was a bit of an artist himself…have you seen any of his art? He also did some work in stone. I’d love to have seen his home in Switzerland. He seems to have created an artist’s sanctuary.

    Why did you choose the Queen of Wands to represent this poem, and what deck is that from, BTW? She is my favorite significator card ever since I bought ‘The Mythic Tarot’ which relates her to Penelope (in the ‘Odyssey’ of Homer). She is also related to Aries, which is my sign. Do you ever use astrology to gain insights in your private practice? I have read some of your background and like the incorporation of sandplay and Tarot. I’ll bet there is less recidivism with your patients using such wholistic methodology.

    I will continue to peruse your work…you could be a mentor for me as I also enjoy Jung, poetry, tarot, symbolism, mythology, comparative religion and the like. There are not many out there I consider multidisciplinary enough to consider in that way. Keep up the good work!

    —TS Woodall

Leave a Reply

