IRAN

July [1] 2008

(Poem)

iran-image-blog-1

I ran with Satan’s zipper

past sharks gnawing on mountain rock,

through Tyrian purple tombs,

and slaughter that reeked of the vulture.

I ran with sacrificial goats and lamb

over accidents of green

and the oil of Islam.

I ran through pockets of history

piled with lumpy sand rats

Persian crabs

and the rusted martyrs of Allah.

I ran over tears whipped to butter

for goats,

I watched three girls in black shrouds

kick an animal to frenzy,

stomach and disembowel it,

then do a dance.

I heard centuries of snarling hands,

tongues that screamed

for the verdict of God.

I saw the wounded terror of tyranny

and cried for the suffocation.

I ran over bleeding desert white,

I bowed before Mohammed’s mountain

And prayed for mercy in heaven.

(1980)

For intelligent online conversation and experimentation about tarot and synchronicity, Join tarotpsych at:

http://tech.groups.yahoo.com/group/tarotpsych/

One Response to “IRAN”

  1. Eric Gill Says:

    Dear Dr. Rosengarten,

    I’m interested in procuring copyright reprint permission rights for the image, “Stars in Tyrian Purple.”

    Can you refer me to the artist?

    Thank you,

    Best regards,

    Eric Gill
    ericgill33@yahoo.com

Leave a Reply

