My Tarot Reading for The Zen Master, Phil Jackson

June [30] 2008

COACH of THE LOS ANGELES LAKERS

Re: The “Kobe/Shaq Problem”

 

Dear Coach Jackson: (October 1, 2003)

I’m a licensed psychologist, author, dharma practitioner, and lifelong Lakers fan.  I am also a scholar and professional reader of Tarot cards.

On the following page, I have included my quick commentary on an impromptu reading just completed. The subject matter is ‘The Kobe Situation,’ a topic all Lakers fans are concerned about, vis-à-vis the rape trial, his mental state at this trying time, and his conflicts with other players in the organization.

Because of your well-known affinities with alternative healing techniques, Zen, Native American ritual etc.  I thought there might be some interest on your part.  As for my background, I have discussed the power and relevance of Tarot as a regular featured guest on Coast To Coast AM with George Noory, the largest late-night talk radio market in the world, as well as in my book TAROT AND PSYCHOLOGY: SPECTRUMS OF POSSIBILITY.  My approach emphasizes not so much a forecast of the future, as a deep penetration of “the present.”

If you find interest in this sort of information, please consider me as an occasional resource to you and the Lakers organization as the need for these special services may arise. As a licensed psychologist , I am well-versed in the ethics of confidentiality, and skilled in psychological assessment and intervention.

I know little about professional basketball beyond being a fan (and weekend hoopster) and claim no technical knowledge of the game whatsoever. What I do well, however, lies in the access of the “hidden sides” of situations that supersede rational and general observation.  Tarot can be used strategically for game and competition strategies, or psychologically for assessment and intervention.

Regarding basketball, as a kid I was also an avid Knick fan, and in the mid-sixties went to many games at the old Garden; I have followed your career, obviously, for quite a long time.  My favorite Knick in the late sixties was Emmett Bryant, a brilliant ball handler in his time, and in my humble opinion, one of those great unsung Knick contributors.  Now, by the way, I hate the Knicks as do all good Lakers fans.

Good luck on the coming season Phil, it should be quite interesting to say the least!

Warmly,

Dr. Art Rosengarten

(SEE PHIL’S RESPONSE ABOVE)

© ART ROSENGARTEN, PH.D., All Rights Reserved.                     Reprints Only With Written Permission of The Author, Dr. Arthur Rosengarten

MY ONE CLAIM TO FAME (Ok, I admit it. I’m pathetic.)

Leave a Reply

